Fishing in Thailand

I’m no expert but I’m getting slightly better. My preference is sea/beach or pier fishing.

ive tried off the beach in Pattaya and caught nothing but the guys beside me caught 7 or 8 tiny fish.

ive tried the lighthouse in Pattaya many snags in the rocks but I’ve always caught there usually quite small but I’ve seen 2 big skate/flatfish/stingray type fish being caught.

I’ve also tried Bang Saen beside Walking Street have caught many but all small.

I tried Ang Sila opposite the fish market and got my biggest catch there but still it was small.

I think I’m not casting out far enough or my technique is wrong. I bottom fish using prawns as bait, I’m hoping to experiment a few different techniques soon.

On the other hand I decided for a break from the sea and decided to head to Freddie’s fishing park in Pattaya. We had a nightmare finding it, we drove in circles for about 30 minutes. 
We called them a few times for directions my driver was thai but I think he had no sense of direction ?

Finally I asked to speak to the falang owner, who said I was right beside them and he would come and guide us there. A beautiful touch.

We arrived too late to enjoy the whole experience but what we did experience was excellent.

A nice change from sea fishing, great food and a few falangs that were so nice, great fun and very generous.

The owner John is a character, great banter and doesn’t hold back on his opinions which I thoroughly enjoyed as I hadn’t been chatting to an ex pat here for a long time.

My final point and questions are where are the good locations near pattaya for beach/pier fishing? What setup are you using, if you could include pics for me a novice that would be great and would you recommend any other parks?

Happy fishing ?

• 2 months later...