News Forum - Series of earthquakes strike 500km away from Thailand’s Andaman coast

Thaiger

A series of continuous 4.0 – 4.9 magnitude earthquakes struck the Andaman and Nicobar islands for a period of 3 days, 506 kilometres away from Thailand’s Andaman coast. More than 40 tremors occurred, beginning July 4 at 6:00am and continuing until this morning, July 6. The epicentre of the tremors was only 10 kilometres deep, making the chance of a tsunami extremely low, according to Thailand’s Metereological Department. Such tremors happen regularly, said the department. Chulalongkorn University’s Department of Geology said the earthquakes were caused by normal fault movement and are extremely unlikely to cause a tsunami. In the rare […]

The story Series of earthquakes strike 500km away from Thailand’s Andaman coast as seen on Thaiger News.

Read the full story

Look I’m no expert on Tsunamis!

But from this article and so called experts & information they gave from Sundays high tide , they are full of it!!

Tsunami warnings trigger high tides & projected wave heights even with small earth tremors & quakes depending where they occur!

I was sitting on the Beach on Sunday with my wife & said their May have been a small quake somewhere as the waves out the back are enormous!

We we’re sitting in an area that had not seen water on the sand for many months as it was fluffy dry and 15 metres from the tide line!

When the waves started coming up to our chairs we were convinced it was from an earthquake event, but heard nothing on the news until the next day!

In Australia we get information from small earthquakes along the coastline when anything around 4.0 on the Richter scale occurs!

As tidal rises and wave heights are important to people living in coastal areas!

Thailand News reported that it has lost transmission with it’s Tsunami warning Buoys & tries to cover over facts that’s fine !