Film Photography

SameSameButBetter

Hi everyone,

I wasn't sure where to post this - 

I was wondering if there are there any film photographers out there? As a professional photographer I use digital only when I absolutely have to - I use film as much as I can - mainly because I prefer it aesthetically but also because that's the way I learnt photography and i still have all of my old film cameras.

I'm not really looking to start a debate on which is best, just wondering if anyone is using film  - I wouldn't mind tapping into creative communities in Thailand again. I worked in the publishing industry when i was working in Thailand and it was hugely enjoyable since there is so much creativity there.

I there used to be a few good indie photographic shops in Bangkok where i used to get film developed and high res scans for an absolute steal - i think one was around Siam - can't remember very well though...

• Like 2

• 2 months later...

Hi, sorry for the late reply, I've not been following the chat for a while since I got back from Thailand.

I've been using film all my life and I've put off going digital (a) because, like you I prefer the look and feel of film and (b) I've got so much invested in my 35mm slide library.  When I made my first trip to Thailand (February/March this year) I decided to use up my remaining film stock; then when I got it processed back here in the UK at great expense I decided it was crunch time!  So now I've put myself in limbo and set myself the challenge of getting and learning to use a digital SLR before my next trip to Thailand in 4 weeks time.

I'm more amateur than pro, but I give talks - old-style slideshows with a pair of dissolve projectors - for a fee.  I'm wary of digital projectors because of the resolution (pixels) and because I doubt you can get a real "dissolve" with two images transiently, fully superimposed on each other - I may be wrong but this is my hunch.