Is it viable to stay in Thailand on a retirement visa?

VirtualRecluse

I would appreciate feedback on the following idea:

Is it viable to stay in Thailand on a retirement visa and set up as a sole trader in the UK to be able to invoice clients (teaching-related work, proofreading, editing etc.)? What pitfalls could you foresee? 

Thanking all those who reply with constructive advice in advance

First of all: Let me say I'm not a lawyer or Visa Expert but I'm trying to share my build up knowledge - trust but verify should be applied here.

In your situation your earning the money outside Thailand however performing the work in Thailand - even through every digital nomad will hate me now, the work is performed physically in Thailand and therefore this would require a Non-B visa including a Work Permit and then one can argue if you don't want your earning directly deposited into a Thai account or your current personal one in the UK (nothing prevents you legally to-do so even in Thailand).

Yes setting up a company in Thailand would be required for this:
- Lawyer can help you with this.
- 49% can be yours, 51% is to be divided over 3 thais whom don't know each other preferably and make your shares the preferred one's over there's.
- Work Permit & Non-B cost will be more expensive then Non-O but on a Non-O even 'working remote' is illegal as Non-O doesn't allow people working, through whatever happens behind your computer they cannot really check but it's in the Grey of how the law operates and especially since your essence is still performing work within the Kingdom, why not do it legally and prevent all forms of problems that can arise in the latter.

First define where you want to be in Thailand, then find a lawyer there. Whom can help you do it legally that would be my advise.

I would not like to find out how hard they can be on Digital Nomads of your age - I mean this respectfully, Thai jails aren't a good place to be in.

Edited by Shark
  • Like 1