News Forum - British pensioner dies in motorbike accident

Thaiger

A Chinese motorist has been threatened with the full force of the law if she is to blame for the death of a British pensioner in a road accident. Keith William McVeighty died in a motorbike crash involving a car on a motorway in Chiang Mai on Sunday morning. Footage from CCTV reveals a female driver accelerated straight across the road from the inside lane into the outside lane and straight into the path of the 83 year old man. McVeighty was startled by the car and tried to break but was unable to avoid crashing into the back of the […]

The story British pensioner dies in motorbike accident as seen on Thaiger News.

Read the full story

Very sad to see an experienced rider pay the ultimate price because someone in a car has no respect for other road users safety.

I have been riding motorcycles for over 35 years and have seen many drivers fail to pay due attention to what's happening around them.

My condolences to this man's family and I hope that if the driver did what the news article stated, she receives the appropriate punishment. 

• Like 5

Yes, from the article she was to blame, but that could cause an incident like the huawei thing. it all depends how hushed up this thing is  ... maybe  some hefty compensation to the mans family from china is the way to go on this one. You can't get western justice when its not the west. id like to think if someone took me out, my family would get a payout

It just shows you how mad it is to ride a motorbike in Thailand, you may be experienced but it only takes one accident like this and then it is all over.

A waste of a life. 

• Like 2

I’ve driven in four countries: Germany, Japan, Australia and Thailand. In Germany and Japan, you’re on auto pilot. In Australia, you have to concentrate. In Thailand, you have to actively consider the actions of all of the drivers and riders around you.